May Beauty Favourites

Now that June’s here and we’re wondering where the f*ck the year has gone – I thought I’d share some of my beauty favourites of the month with you guys.

May has been a bit of a crazy month for me – I had family visit from abroad to celebrate my Grandad’s 80th birthday, I went on holiday to Morocco (which I didn’t want to come home from) and I went to a wedding. So some of my beauty products have really been put to the test, and I’ve had a chance to test out some amazing skin care that I just had to share with you. So grab a cuppa, put your feet up and have your debit card at the ready (you’ll need it, trust me).

Clinque Moisture Surge 72-Hour Auto-Replenishing Hydrator

I won’t be the first person to rave about this, and I definitely won’t be the last. And that’s simply because it’s amazing. I kept going into Boots, Debenhams, House of Fraser and staring at the testers for so long before I bit the bullet and bought it at Duty Free on the way to Morocco (it was a bargain btw). FYI, I also spent another £100 on makeup before I’d even left the country. 🙄

img_1253_facetune_04-06-2018-19-55-36

I normally have oily skin so tend to avoid anything that’s ‘super moisturizing’ in the fear that it’ll make it worse, but as I was going to Morocco I thought the sun might dry my skin out, and I’d need some extra moisture – plus it was really cheap and I got a free eye cream.

First of all, the texture is amazing – I really don’t like thick creams and this is like a gel with the perfect consistency. Gel moisturisers are the future people, and this just proves it. Plus, I can actually see a difference in my skin since using it – it looks plumper, healthier and if anything, my oily nose is behaving itself. A little bit really does do the job and I’ve barely made a dent in mine – it also looks pretty on your vanity; win-win.

If you’re in the market for a new moisturiser then you need to jump on this one – it isn’t stupidly expensive and a little bit goes a long way.

Clinique aren’t a cruelty free brand though; they’re owned by the Estee Lauder company, who are against animal testing and commited to the elimination of it (check out the statement here). The only time they do test on animals is if it is required by law – if it was completely cruelty free – it’d be perfect. 

Solid 9.5/10 for me – now, how many bottles can I stash in my room.

Revolution Pro Brow Pencil

When the infamous brand Revolution released their pro collection I bought most of it the same day – with the intention to do a review but never quite got there.

But after I finished my NYX Brow Pencil, I remembered I had the Revolution Pro one; and at £4 (£4!!!) it didn’t really matter if it was crap. It’s a micropencil so the nib is very small and works perfectly to achieve hair-like strokes. It has a spooly (is that even how you spell it??) so you can achieve bold brows, feathered brows and natural brows.

99de9af4-6041-4d89-83e6-7eec7a954398

Now, I have used better brow pencils, but for the price this one has really blown me away and is perfect for everyday or touch-ups during the day. I already have a spare for my handbag. You know, for brow emergencies.

To add a little extra something it’s also Vegan and Cruelty free – which is always a great bonus. You can also search by Vegan products on their website.

8.5/10 – could do with improvement but it’s a blessing for the bank. 

KiKO 3D Hydragloss

For starters it sounds like some kind of weapon; but in reality it’s one of the best lipglosses I’ve ever tried. Full disclaimer: I haven’t tried a lot, but I love this one so why would I need to?

ff397e60-66e3-4159-93ec-ea0164f01261

For a cheap and cheerful gloss I find myself going towards it daily – they’re not sticky, they’re hydrating, they give a nice sheen – what’s not to love.

If I’m going for something *slightly* more natural (which doesn’t often happen), then I’ll use the gloss on it’s own, and for something more glam I pair it with a liquid lip. Btw, it works soooo well with a liquid lip and doesn’t start to crumble apart; my magic combination is Hydragloss in number 18, with the Instant Colour Matte Liquid Lip in number 1 – it’s dreamy. 😻

KiKO is also a brand that doesn’t test on animals – which just makes their products even better.

For £7.90 and wide range of glittery goodness you cannot go wrong; and if you’re in the need for a new gloss – you won’t regret this.

9/10 – I loveeee this, and have converted most of my family on to this.

Marc Jacobs Contour Powder Duo

This shit is expensive – there’s no denying it and even though I picked it up from TK Maxx it was still expensive. But I love it.

There’s something about it that makes it amazing – the powder is just great. They’re not patchy, they blend well, the contour isn’t too ashy or warm and the lighter powder you can use to set the under eye.

For some reason it seems to work so well with every brush and as for the packing: LOOK. AT. IT. It’s stunning; boujee, but stunning. ✨

dc367a00-6478-4657-8d38-60b26b228347

img_1256
Excuse the state – it’s much loved

Despite the price it’s worth every penny and I use it everyday, surely that’s saying something. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Marc Jacobs Beauty knocks it out of the park as well because all of their products are cruelty free – as approved by Neville (the dog).

Without a doubt – 10/10, although I fear I may not get it again once it’s all used. 

Superdrug Vitamin E Spray Moisturiser

Last but not least, we have this beauty.

I personally don’t tend to moisturise a lot, even though I know I should (shame on me) but it’s a hassle and I hate the greasy feeling when you’ve just showered. It’s just weird.

But, in an attempt to have baby soft skin I bought a cheap spray moisturiser, this one no less, and loved it. It’s easy to use and smells amazing for £2.99. 

img_1261_facetune_04-06-2018-21-31-07

I wouldn’t necessarily say it’s best suited to dry skin, but it does help retain moisture and dries down on the skin easily – meaning you can use it and get dressed, bonus. The spray makes it super easy to apply and you’ll smell like a dream everyday.

If you’re like me and are awful at moisturising, give this one a whirl, you won’t regret it.

Superdrug being good ole Superdrug also means that is both cruelty free and vegan – yay.

8/10 – it does it’s job, smells amazing and is cheap – what more can you ask?

img_1251_facetune_04-06-2018-19-51-47

So that’s all my beauty favourites of last month, and I’ve already got started on this months. What were your must haves for the month? Have you tried any of these?

If you want to learn more about Cruelty free and Vegan brands/products – check out this site; it’s great and very informative – Cruelty-Free Kitty 

petalogo

Until next time,

xo

Leave a comment